It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year…

Posted: December 19, 2007 in Uncategorized

Is it really? I was thinking this morning as I was reflecting on the Word and reading through the Christmas story from Matthew. Yeah that’s right I said Matthew. Most people read from Luke, and I am sure I will too before next Tuesday, but this morning it was Matthew. The funny thing about this time of year is we usually spend a couple months focusing around Christmas. A month before hand to prepare and a month after to recover. I love Christmas. I love giving and who doesnt love receiving right? But most of all I love the meaning. That the Savior of the world and Creator of the world would come to the world. But why? What’s interesting about Matthew is he only spent 8 verses of his gospel telling us the christmas story. Yep, that’s it, 8…but he spends 115 verses telling us about the arrest, crucifixion, and ressurection of Christ. So that got me thinking…why? The only thing that keeps coming to my mind is this. The babe grew up. What an amazing thing that He came and was born in the lowliest of places in one of the lowliest familes, but that was just the road he took to get to one thing. The Cross.

Leave a Reply

