Getting In Shape

Posted: January 14, 2008 in Uncategorized

So I joined another fitness center. I need to get in shape. Not that I’m overly obese, because I’m not, but when I went skiing a couple weeks ago I realized I was in trouble. I joined last Monday and have been there about everyday since. It’s not fun to say the least. The first day was actually the worst. It started out good I ran a mile on the treadmill and actually did it in 7:48. I thought, that’s not bad for having not run a mile in probably three years. So then I went to the elliptical machine for about 10 minutes. I was actually feeling great and very proud of myself. So I kept going. This time it was 50 incline crunches followed by a quick chest workout. Now I was feeling really good about myself. I sat there for a moment and began to get my stuff ready to walk out the door when it hit me. “I’m going to puke!” There was one bathroom for the guys in this place and I didn’t know if I could make it. As I started walking towards it, I started to get tunnel vision. This was getting bad. I finally made it to the door and walked in and fell down and laid on the cold tile. I seriously thought I was going to die and wanted too. Realizing what was going on, I knew the best thing would be for me to put my head between my legs and just take deep breathes, but it was a little too late. A Second later, everything I had eaten that day had come forth with a strong force and I felt as if it were the end of my life. I could only wish, because for the next 10 minutes as I laid there on that cold tile, I couldn’t move. When I finally came too, I walked out of the bathroom to be met by one of the owners of the place and she said, “Mr Cross, are you ok? I had noticed you were working out really hard, this is your first week back, maybe you should ease back into it.” Probably the most obvious statement of my year so far. To say the least, ever since last Monday, I have eased back into it. It’s just another realization that I’m 30 now and I just can’t do the things I used to do without paying a price for it.

Comments
  1. becky says:

    Be careful there—Remember if you need help, call me—I”m a nurse!!LOL
    I loved your picture from your mission trip, it reminded me of my trip I went on about 5 years ago to Venezuela. It was an amazing thing and makes you appreciate all you have to be grateful for.
    Have a good day.
    Becky

  2. Amy says:

    I’m a firm believer in exercising only a little at a time. Walking to the fridge and back. Carrying the kids up the stairs a hundred times a day. Moving laundry from the washer to the dryer and to the floor of my room. Etc. JK You better be careful! You must’ve been sick to lay on the dirty bathroom floor of a gym. Gross.

  3. Julie says:

    I can’t believe you admitted to doing this.

Leave a Reply

