The Sonic Lady

Posted: January 21, 2008 in Uncategorized

So for some reason Sonics are going up everywhere. I mean Sonic is ok, and they do have the best variety of drinks in town, but it would be nice to have a sit-down restaurant in one of those places. They put one in about a mile from my house on the way to the church, so I visit there frequently. I’m not a big fan of the food at Sonic, becauseĀ it’s mostly just fat greasy stuff, but I do like their coffee. First, it’s way cheaper than Starbucks and I actually like just plain coffee over the fancy Starbucks stuff anyway. Although even Starbucks has great plain coffee. So about three times a week now in the mornings, I will pull into Sonic and get a nice cup of coffee for a buck. The real reason I go there tho, is not for the coffee, it’s the service. I have never been to a fast food place that has people as nice as the ones there. One lady in-particular. Not sure of her name yet, but she is honestly one of the most joyful people I know. Each morning as I pull around the drive-thru, she always knows what I want. “You gonna have your usual this morning?” “I sure am.” “Well then that’s a $1.08, I’ve got it ready for you.” I did throw her off one morning and get a bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich, but that was a one-time thing. By the time I pull up to the front, you find yourself looking forward to talking to this lady. My dad has a word for people like her that he refers too. Countenance. These are the people that just love life and seem to never have a bad day and it’s written on their face. Now I don’t know about you, but to me being a 50 something year old woman and working at a sonic drive-thru wouldn’t be my idea of a dream job, but to this lady you wouldn’t know the difference. I’m not sure if she is a Christian or goes to church or whatever, and I will find out pretty soon, because if she’s not, I want her in our church. We need more people, including myself, to be content where God has placed them in life, and not only content, but look at it as if it were their dream job.

Comments
  1. Amy says:

    That’s a good post! I need to run out and get me a Cherry Limeade now.

  2. April says:

    The best thing about Sonic is their ice. I love it. I love it when I run into people who are happy with what they have. There really have a strong testimony whether they are Christian or not.

  3. Julie says:

    After you invite her to church, ask if she has a daughter.

Leave a Reply

