Dirty Baseboards

Posted: January 22, 2008 in Uncategorized

I did a little spring cleaning yesterday. I know it’s not spring but I figured since winter is not coming this year, it would be ok to go ahead and start the spring clean. Although we did wake up to a layer of ice this morning on the roads and it caused a bunch of accidents. Growing up, my sisters and I would all have different responsibilities around the house. I had to mow the yard, bring in wood for the fire, clean the fireplace, all that good stuff. My sisters were responsible for the girlie stuff like vacuuming the house, washing the dishes, setting the table, and of course dusting the furniture. Well once in a while my dad would get into one of his moods we like to call it and it would make the term spring cleaning look like a walk on the beach. He would get us all together and give us all different responsibilities. The most famous one would be the Brasso. Not sure if you are familiar with this product, but it’s an understatement to say me and my sisters are. My dad would make us use that stuff on every faucet, doorknob, handle, or anything else that was metal until our fingers fell off. He would say “I don’t wanna see anything but hind-ends and elbows.” Luckily for me the Brasso was usually my sisters job. I would always get stuck with another dirty job, the baseboards. My dad would come in with a hot wash cloth and hand it to me and told me to stay on my hands and knees until every baseboard was wiped clean. So reluctantly and almost always complaining, I did. Last night, as I was cleaning up around the house, it brought back this memory as I looked over my baseboards and it looked like something off the Adam’s Family with all the cob-webs. As a kid, I remember when we finally finished the all day cleaning festival, even though I hated doing it, I always loved the end result. Smelling and living in a fresh, clean house. Yesterday, the thought came to my mind that a lot of times, we do the same thing spiritually. We may keep the surface of our lives clean and looking presentable, but every once in a while we need to get the Brasso out. Or possibly get on our hands and knees, not to clean the baseboards, but to clean out our heart. Even though it may not be fun to do, it would be worth it, because you would be living in a fresh and clean house.

Comments
  1. Julie says:

    If it makes you feel that good, I’ve got plenty more baseboards over here that need cleaning. I’m too busy using the Brasso on everything else! HA!

  2. Amy says:

    As I recall, the baseboards were my job most of the time. I do that all the time in my house. I’m teaching Maggie how to do it now. =] Julie was definitely the Brasso queen. Looks like she still is. HA Mom will be glad to know you did your baseboards….hahaha She told me they were dusty. HA

Leave a Reply

