Moment of Truth

Posted: January 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

I dvr’d American Idol last night like I do every week and watch it when I get home from our youth service. It was funny as always with all the goobers that are on that show. After it was over I watched a new show that Fox was pushing pretty hard called Moment of Truth. It definitely isn’t the most wholesome show in the world, so don’t think I am promoting it here, I was just interested to see what the buzz was about. Here is the point of the show from the Fox website: THE MOMENT OF TRUTH will put participants to the test — the lie detector test — to reveal whether or not they are telling the truth for a chance to win half a million dollars. The challenge is simple: answer 21 increasingly personal questions honestly, as determined by a polygraph, and win up to $500,000. This is the only game show where participants know both the questions and the answers before they begin to play. What deep dark secret will someone divulge for hundreds of thousands of dollars? Last night they had a man on there who was a former pro-football player and now is a personal trainer. He was answering these questions in front of his wife of two years, his sister, and his best friend. If he answers truthfully, he gets to keep going for more money. If not, he loses all the money. He could stop at anytime with the money he has already earned. The question that got me was for $100,000. Here was the question: “Is the reason that you aren’t trying to have any kids right now because you think your wife may not be your life-long partner?” Wow…the interesting thing is as soon as it was asked, the guys sister leaned over to his wife and said “Is it worth $100,000 for you to hear this answer?” His wife then said “It’s not about the money, I just wanna know what the truth is.” Well, the guy said yes, and he was telling the truth! You could just see the look on his wife’s face just crushed. I was in awe. I felt terrible for that woman. It got to the place for her that money wasn’t even the issue, it was to hear what the person she loved the most had to say. I’m glad I don’t know everything about the people I know, I’m sure it would be sickening to hear some of it. I am just so grateful that my sin is covered as far as east is from the west. I definitely don’t want the world knowing my deepest and darkest secrets, but I have a God that does, and yet He still loves me the same. That’s what I am most thankful for!

Comments
  1. April says:

    AMEN! Have you heard the song East to West by Casting Crowns. It is my theme song. Aren’t we all glad God is in control.

  2. C says:

    I’ve been wondering about that show, but still have yet to see it. And that is very true: “I’m glad I don’t know everything about the people I know, I’m sure it would be sickening to hear some of it.”

    I couldn’t imagine.

    I enjoyed this post.

Leave a Reply

