That’s All I Want to See

Posted: February 5, 2008 in Uncategorized

I know those who read my blog don’t read it to get preached at everyday but once in a while something in Scripture gets me excited and I have to share. Today is that day. I was in personal study of the Transfiguration (where Jesus took Peter, James, and John to a mountain and changed right in front of them to reveal part of His glory) in Matthew 17. It’s an amazing passage where the Lord’s face looked like the sun, and his clothes turned a bright and holy white. Moses and Elijah then appeared there with Him, and the disciples were excited to see them, of course. So as they began making plans to host their new guests, a great cloud came over the top of them and they were covered by the Lord and God spoke through that cloud and said to listen to His Son. That’s when they became scared. Now for me, seeing Elijah and Moses back from the dead would have put me over the top in the frightened category, but not them. It happened when God spoke. This is an amazing story, but here is the part that got me. Jesus went to them and touched them and told them not to be afraid. When they looked up they didn’t see anyone…but Jesus. Think about that. They are right next to each other, Moses and Elijah were more than likely still right there with them, but they couldn’t see anyone but our Savior.

I know for me, this just gets to me. I get so easily distracted by a good speaker or author of a great book and I sometimes get envious of their accomplishments and wish that God would use me like He uses them. Just as the disciples were distracted by being good hosts for Moses and Elijah, I can share those same distractions. When what I need to be doing, is listening intently to Jesus. So my prayer today is for a cloud. I wanna be able to look up and not see anyone else but my Savior. That’s all I want to see.

Comments
  1. Amy says:

    That’s a good observation. I like that.

Leave a Reply

