God of this City

Posted: February 11, 2008 in Uncategorized

I’m not one to get caught up in music. I like music, I like all kinds of music but it doesn’t make or break me. Every once in a while though I will hear a worship song that really speaks to me the first time I hear it. The last time that happened it was the song Mighty to Save by Hillsong United. Last week though, as I was driving in my car and put in the new Passion cd entitled God of this City. The title song is a new one by Chris Tomlin and it really hit home. Very simple song, but powerful nonetheless. You can listen to the song here. These are the lyrics to God of this City by Chris Tomlin:

You’re the God of this city,
You’re the King of these people,
You’re the Lord of this Nation,
You are
You’re the Light in this darkness,
You’re the Hope to the hopeless,
You’re the Peace to the restless,
You are
There is no one like our God,
There is no one like our God.
For greater things have yet to come,
For greater things are still to be done in this city.

I think the reason this song hits me is because I’m in the trenches. Being in ministry it is hard to deal with people. I love people, but it doesn’t mean they don’t make it hard to love them. So that’s why this song is great. It is just another reminder to keep doing what I’m doing. Greater things are still to be done in this city.

Comments
  1. brianhowe says:

    bro, great song…listening to it over and over…

  2. Franki Maglaras says:

    this song has really helped me see what God’s heart is for our cities! Its like Gods saying, ‘i am going to pour out my heart to these people’ – Lets proclaim this over our land, our friends, our families and the lost generation who are just waiting for something or someone to impact their worlds!

    Bless you all on this exciting journey with Jesus our Lord, his spirit and power is in us right now, and as we individually connect into his anointing and increase in faith and power, we need to come together in unity and start to knock down the walls that the enemy has been aloud to build – Lets take back whats Gods, and start to see what God has promised.

Leave a Reply

