Walt

Posted: February 14, 2008 in Uncategorized

I’ve had a very busy day. We had an unusually long staff meeting today to go over some events coming up. Since we had that meeting, it put me behind on a lot of things I had to get done today, that’s why I didn’t need any distractions. So after getting back from lunch and locking myself in my office I started to get to work. 5 minutes into it, I got a knock on my door. It was from a salesman that wanted me to order some Bible study material from him. Now my first reaction was “oh no…how can I get out of this and get this guy out of my hair because I have too much to do than listen to his sales pitch.” But I’m a nice guy, so I was polite and I listened. It was definitely as boring as I thought it would be until the story changed. You see the man that came by to meet with me is a 69 year old man named Walt. After he gave me his sales pitch, he started asking me about sports. Of course I like sports but I was not interested in expounding on that at this point because I had things to get done. It was at that point he told me he was offered a contract to pitch for the Yankees when he was 19 and coming out of high school. Ok…time out…now I’m interested. I mean I love stories like that, so I asked him about it. He said they came and met with his dad about signing him and his dad wasn’t comfortable with it and didn’t feel good about the contract, so he wouldn’t let him sign. Remember this is at a time when the teenagers actually respected their parents decision and went with it. So Walt couldn’t sign, instead, he went and got a job like most everybody else. He then told me how he was bitter towards his father for years for not letting him sign and after a while he finally found Christ and began that new relationship and his life was changed. He had forgiven his dad and was now married and was moving on with his life. But that wasn’t the part of the story that got to me. He said he was so thankful that he never signed that contract because God had a different plan for his life. Now me being a super Christian said…”yeah you may have never found that relationship with Christ.” He looked at me and tears started flowing down his face to the point where it was almost uncomfortable and he said, “I’m sorry for the tears but I just get so emotional thinking about it.” “Thinking about what?” I said. “If I would have signed that contract, I wouldn’t have married the greatest person a man could marry.” He talked about being married now for 50 years and how he has never been happier and life together just keeps getting sweeter. I told him it was a great testimony to be married that long and he said he wouldn’t give anything for it. That’s what this day is all about. Happy Valentines day.

Comments
  1. Becky says:

    What a GREAT story—–I guess that is a testimony of how we need to settle down and stop what we are doing sometimes. I def need to remember that with all the craziness at work somedays. Just stop and listen to what could be an amazing story and testimony. Happy V-Day!!!

  2. pastormarty says:

    Wow! Thanks for that story Dave. Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

