Youth Trips

Posted: February 21, 2008 in Uncategorized

I love teenagers. I guess I better, since I have devoted my life so far to them. I love hanging out and listening to their thoughts and being able to teach them. I also love youth trips. This last Monday I took a group of our teens on a one day ski adventure to North Carolina. It was a great time. I got to meet a couple new teens that went with us on this trip that hopefully will get plugged into our ministry. Out of the group that went, we had about 10 of them that were first time skiers. That’s always fun. I told them I had two rules: 1. No whining 2. No getting hurt. They do those two things, we will be fine. Well, they did and it was a good trip. Going on this trip reminded me of my first time skiing. I went to another place in NC as a teenager on a trip a lot like this one. At this time we didn’t have a church van so our youth pastor decided to improvise. By improvise I mean cram all the girls into a nice mini-van fully equipped with a color TV and VCR (yes I said VCR, I’m old). Meanwhile six of our guys were crammed into the back of a small pickup truck with a squeaky camper-top. It was rough. When we finally arrived after the worst two and a half hours of my life i got all my gear and took a $10 lesson… that didn’t teach me anything. It was a miserable trip. To cap it all off the youngest of the guys on the trip was saying how bad he had hurt his ankle so he took up more room than anyone in the back of our great joyride on the way home, yet he was the first one to run into McD’s when we stopped to eat. Needless to say, I hated skiing, luckily I went a second time and fell in love… now I’m a professional. Ok, maybe semi-professional. lol

Comments
  1. Mark says:

    Tell ’em about Camp Joy!!!

  2. Amy says:

    I agree, Mark! David needs to write about Camp Joy!! HAHAHA

  3. davecross says:

    @Mark – LOL When Camp season comes around I def will!

Leave a Reply

