#1 vs. #2

Posted: February 23, 2008 in Uncategorized

I love sports, anyone in my family can attest to that. My favorite to watch and follow are college sports, probably because I grew up living in a college town. Now don’t get me wrong, I still like the professional sports and I regularly follow teams like the Detroit Pistons and even the Tigers. My dad grew up outside of Detroit and he got me loving the Detroit teams at an early age. But I mostly follow the University of Tennessee. I love football (which hasn’t been too exciting over the last few years), and now more currently basketball. They have never had much of a Men’s bball program, because when the season rolls around, the women usually take the stage. Especially considering the women’s team have the winningest coach in NCAA history and 7 championships to go along with that. Now a new day has dawned though and it has come in the form of third year coach Bruce Pearl. Tennessee is now ranked #2 in the nation and they are playing our cross-state rivals the #1 Memphis Tigers. I can’t remember the last time I have been this excited about a UT game, including football. Tickets for this game are being sold online in excess of $3,000. That’s insane! Many celebrities and superstars will be in attendance and it is the biggest game of the year so far in college basketball. Needless to say, I’m excited. But win or lose tonight, I am still satisfied for how far this program has come. It was only four years ago that I went to purchase 30 tickets for our teenagers to catch a basketball game and the ticket office was so thrilled that I wanted to bring them to the game that they just gave me all the tickets! So no matter the outcome, at least they had the chance to play in a game of this magnitude! Go Vols!

Comments
  1. Cierra says:

    Woo woo! It’s times like these that I wish I were still attending UT. (Actually, I’d prefer to be going there anyway. Darn that Digital Media major!)

    Have fun!

  2. davecross says:

    P.S. – TN Won! 66-62! They are now the #1 team in the Country!

  3. Becky says:

    It was an awesome game!!!! Couldn’t watch the last few minutes without my face covered—haha.
    Keep in touch!!

Leave a Reply

