Faithfulness

Posted: April 21, 2008 in Uncategorized

Today was a good day at church. God spoke to me today. Actually, let me rephrase that. I listened to God today. Preacher spoke on personal revival today in both services and it was very powerful. The thing that I kept pondering is our personal walk with God. I think it gets to be easy when you have been a Christian for a while to just go through the motions. Each and everyday pray before your meals, read a devotion from the Word, pray one or two more times, then do it all again the next day. When Sunday rolls around we dress up in our “Sunday clothes” and head out the door. The thing I have been thinking about lately is this question: Does that please God? Now don’t get me wrong, I know God is pleased when we stay faithful to Him, but that raises another question: Since when did faithfulness become a ritual? Now I know that faithfulness over the years has kind of become an easy word. What I mean by that is it has been used to mean reliable or constant or even loyal. But is that really what faithfulness is? I mean I know for me the more I look at faith it scares me. Straight from the Word in Hebrews 11 it is the assurance of things we hope for and it is the evidence of things we can’t even see. That means it is truly there but we can’t physically hold onto it to have that comfort that we are in full control. It reminds me of playing hide-go-seek in the dark as a kid. When you walk into that dark room you know they are in there but you can’t see anyone so you get that tense feeling like someone is about to jump up and scare the daylights out of you. When I think about a personal revival in my life it means losing control. Giving up the things that I have started to rely on to take the place of God’s place in my life. Letting Him have free reign to do what He wants. Isn’t that faithfulness?

Comments
  1. APRIL says:

    What a powerful blog. Thanks Dave!

  2. mark says:

    dave… call me soon-4/27/08

  3. jeffsdeepthoughts says:

    Interesting stuff. Thanks for sharing it.
    One of the things that came to mind while I was reading your blog was the idea of applying the concept of faithfulness in our relationships with other (you know, mortal/flawed/human) people.

    For example, if my relationship with my wife becames thoroughly prescribed by rituals, there’s a narrow and strict sense in which I’m faithful to her. But in some wider sense, I’m really not being faithful to her at all: I’m married, at that point to a sense of predictabality, not to a real person at all. I’m cheating on the person I married because I’m not agnowladging her uniqueness, it’s like I’m dating my own expectations, almost. (Is this making any sense. It seems like maybe the metaphor is starting to unravel.)
    It’s worth noting that the opposite extreme has some problems: if I try to engage in this relationship with out any rituals it would be chaos…

  4. davecross says:

    @Jeff – You are def right about that. I think it is important to have some uniform and structure in some ways in which we worship. It def keeps us disciplined in our walk.

  5. pastormarty says:

    Hey Dave, looking forward to your next blog. Bring it!

  6. JW says:

    What he said. ^^

Leave a Reply

