The word of 2008 is…

Posted: December 31, 2008 in Uncategorized

I figured since it has been 253 days since my last blog, that I would maybe write one today… So for the 3 people that will read this, here ya go. I don’t think I have ever looked forward to a new year, like I have looked forward to 2009. This has been a crazy year for me in many ways. There has never been another year in my life where so much has taken place (hence the reason I haven’t blogged in 253 days).

So to end this year and look forward to next year I wanted to share something simple I discovered the other day in my personal devotion. As I was reading and learning what God was showing me that day I asked Him to bring to mind one word that would describe my 2008. Now there were many things I thought of that could be a good candidate for that word but I wanted it to be special. I could have thought of a phrase, verse, or quote, but I wanted it deeper, yet simpler than that. I wanted it to be my word. So as I began narrowing it down, some words came to mind…

Love – I am fortunate enough to have seen love in the people around me. Encouraging words, notes, prayers, all these things were evident in my life in 2008. It is a blessing to love and be loved. Still though, this wasn’t the word.
Change – I’ve seen a lot of change in my life this year. I lost a little weight, which is always nice, getting into better shape. My habits have changed some, I do eat a little healthier than I did last year and am laying off the carbonated beverages (which according to my eye doctor has helped my vision) go figure. The biggest change would be my job. After 8 years in full time church ministry I am now working at a graphic design company. It’s been different to say the least, but it’s been a huge blessing in my life. God has opened so many doors of opportunity for me and it has been such a huge encouragement to be around the people I work with.
Growth – This word is an understatement in my life. I’ve gone through not just a time, but a season of growth. I am now 6’4″ and have abs of steel. haha I wish… Definitely not true. Spiritually is the thing here. I have never grown closer and been more real with God than I have been in 2008. The biggest thing that I knew but never practiced is that God knows all about us already, so why do we try and justify our actions when He already knows our hearts? For me, it’s been a hard lesson to learn, but one I can now hold on to.
Family – It seems like every year gets sweeter with my family. This year brought me yet another niece in little Annie. Who is a bundle of snotty nose joy. haha If there are things that change, there is one thing I can always hold onto. It’s the wonderful family God has blessed me with. I don’t thing I was aware of how blessed I am with the family I have until this year. No matter what I’ve done, or been through, they are always by my side. It’s not always easy, and they might have some difficult things to say, but they are a constant and they share and show love like no one else. I’ve grown considerably closer to my family this year.

There are several more words that I could bring out to describe my year but I wanted to have one special one. So after prayer and seeking God to desribe to me the word He wants me to take from 2008, He gave it to me. This was as clear as Him speaking audibly to me. So here is my word for 2008…
GRACE – Anyone that is a Christian should always keep this word special to them, but for me, it is now the motto and description of the rest of my life. One of the biggest definitions of Grace that I have heard growing up is the old acrostic God’s riches at Christ’s expense. I’ve even used that definition when I have preached in the past. It’s a cute acrostic and easy to remember but for me it’s not personal enough. Grace to me is more simple yet complex than that. It is God involved. If there is one thing that I have learned this year is that God is truly involved in my life and that is grace! He chooses to direct my paths and has a specific plan for my life that I never even had for myself. That is amazing! He is involved. He could let me do what I want to do and live a basic meaningless life or He could show me grace and get involved with who I am. It’s not always fun, and let me tell you from experience, many times it is hard. It’s called the narrow road that most people don’t find. So let me leave you with this. It’s not always easy to follow God, and quite often it is difficult, but it is well worth it.

If you haven’t experienced grace, and I don’t mean just saving grace, which is great and important, but that’s just the tip of the iceburg! I mean true unconditional surender to the grace God has for you, then make that your 2009 priority. It is truly amazing! So what’s your word for 2008?

Comments
  1. Amy says:

    Strength – To accomplish great things that I could never have accomplished without the Lord; To sustain and uphold someone who has little physical strength of his own; For someone to endure and be victorious over the deepest valley in his life; And the indescribable strength God gives when families go through hard times together.

  2. Julie says:

    Merciful. That’s how He has been throughout my life & very evidently this year. God has given me more blessings than I deserve, more time than I expected, more friends than I can count, more love than I can comprehend. I will never be worthy of all He’s done for me.

  3. Jeremy says:

    I like your word. Thanks for sharing it. Great blog. Keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

