Wii all can learn a thing or two

Posted: January 5, 2009 in About Me, Hot Topics

I was just thinking again today about technology and how far we have come. I’ve always been big into video games. Ever since the original Nintendo came out, that gave me a whole new passion to rot my brains out in front of a TV screen. Now it took me a couple years to finally get a Nintendo after they came out, but I wasn’t short of playing my neighbors and my friends. So after many hours of blowing on the cartridge to get it to work, and getting unlimited lives in Super Mario Brothers I had finally developed into a video game genius. I’ll never forget the sense of accomplishment from beating Ninja Gaiden or Contra, or hitting 3 home-runs a game with Jose Canseco in RBI Baseball. Those were the days.

My nephew and nieces got a Wii for Christmas and it quickly became a very Wii time. From knowing everyone in my families weight now (thanks to the Wii Fit), to watching my Bro-in-law Paul get frustrated because his Indiana Jones Lego character kept falling off a cliff. It reminded me vividly of my childhood and not knowing what was going on in the world around you thanks to the fantasy land in the world in front of you.

I think the the most priceless moment though came when my nephew decided to appease his Great-Grandmother in bowling. After he created her a Mii character and set up all the things necessary, they started their game. It didn’t take long to realize that Grant was no match for Great-Granny. After beating him solidly in the first game, they had a rematch and things just started getting worse for poor Grant. The funniest thing about it all was the fact that Grant kept wanting to call his friend Matthew to rub in all the Wii things and games he got for Christmas. By the end of the second game most of the family was in the room to watch as Great-Granny delivered the final blow to any ounce of pride Grant may have had left. I asked him if he wanted me to call his friend Matthew for him and tell him the score. For proof of the 10 year old devastation I provided this classic photo. Notice the score behind them…

Grant losing to Great-Granny

The thing that intrigued me the most about this, is I saw myself in Grant (not that my Great-Grandmother ever beat me haha). Now that I am older, I still love video games. I still get into them and can play them for hours without any sense of time but it’s not my focus anymore like it was as a kid. I don’t remember the time where I started looking at video games as just that, games, but I know it will happen for Grant like that as well. In the meantime, as I watched the seriousness he possessed while maneuvering that controller, I couldn’t help but reminisce about the “good-ole-days.” In many ways, there is nothing wrong with the major concern in your life being if you make it to the next checkpoint without losing all your lives first. You ever have moments like that?

Comments
  1. Amy says:

    Blowing on the cartridge?? lol That was so frustrating! Remember Solomon’s Key?

Leave a Reply

