Where the love lasts forever

Posted: January 21, 2009 in Encouraging, Life Change, My Faith

I was reading in 2 Timothy this morning and what Paul was saying to a young Timothy just resonated to me and caught my attention. He said to him in verse 8, to “…share in suffering for the gospel by the power of God, who saved us and called us to a holy calling, not because of our works, but because of His own purpose and grace, which He gave us in Christ Jesus before the ages began, and which now has been manifested through the appearing of our Savior Christ Jesus, who abolished death and brought life and immortality to light through the gospel…”

It is amazing to see passion here in these couple verses. Timothy had passion and eagerness to serve God. It’s a great attribute to have. I think one of the top questions people have today is what is my purpose God? What would you want me to do? This is the attitude of Timothy, willing and ready to do whatever is required of him. Paul wants him to get one thing clear, when God calls you, it’s not an ordinary call, it’s a holy call. It’s a separated life. It’s so easy to get caught up in the passion and vision and love part of it, that you forget the most important thing, holiness. Paul was saying to Timothy, no matter what your calling is, or where God wants to take you, you can’t get there without holiness, being set apart. Trust me, I know what holiness is first hand. I’ve seen what holiness can do in lives around me and what the lack of holiness can do in my own life. He goes on to say, that nothing God does is about us. It has nothing to do with our works, but His own purpose and grace, which only comes through Christ.

Wow, I’m so glad it’s not about me. I’m so glad that Romans 8 is in the Bible. God’s love is the most amazing yet humiliating thing there is. Amazing, because it’s unconditional. Humiliating, because I don’t deserve it. But oh how grateful I am to the one who gave it all for me.

Your mercy found me,
Upon the broken road,
And lifted me beyond my failing,
Into Your glory,
My sin and shame dissolved,
And now forever Yours I’ll stand.

In love never to end,
To call You more than Lord,
Glorious friend.

So I throw my life upon all You are,
‘Cause I know You gave it all for me,
And when all else fades,
My soul will dance with You,
Where the love lasts forever.
Hillsong United

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    Um … wow.

    I know that whenever I think of God’s holiness (and what mine should be) I just am floored by how far I fall short.

    I’m glad God is grace and mercy, cause I know that no matter how hard I try, I’ll still mess up. And when I mess up, I know that God will come and reach out to me in the darkness.

    That sounds like some skit I’ve seen …

  2. pastormarty says:

    A very sweet song Dave. Good to see you’ve posted again!

Leave a Reply

