Staddicts

Posted: January 26, 2009 in Hot Topics, Humor

So I talk to my sisters about this everyone once in a while and we get a good laugh. I don’t know that I will ever fully understand the facebook status. To me the idea of keeping everyone you know updated on a minute by minute basis can lead to TMI. I’m not one to keep my “status” up, in fact, I can count on one hand how many times I’ve written a status in the 3 years I have been on facebook. There are some of my friends on fbook (def not mentioning any names lol) that can’t go an hour without posting their update. So today, I’ve decided to give them a name. They are now to be called “Staddicts,” which is short for status addicts (by the way, try saying that five times fast).  In fact, I have officially inserted this name and definition onto Wikipedia here (but it was deleted within five minutes for being  “patent nonsense, consisting purely of incoherent text or gibberish with no meaningful content or history.”) Hmm…go figure, I thought it was quite clever myself.

Anyway, this word still stands in my book and will now be used quite often for identifying certain people. Not that I am saying it’s dumb to post a status, just not the details of every minute of your life. For instance, the following are some current satus’ the exact moment I am typing this post. (The names have been changed to protect the guilty of course)

– Joe Noseblower is getting drugs for a sinus infection… (Thanks for sharing Joe)
– Caffeine Addict is going to get Starbucks before work…(Tell them I said hi)
– Captain Obvious is taking care of business…(what else would you be doing on a Mon. afternoon?)
– Jerrod C is trying to make it through the day without her…(wow too bad that really is from Jerrod, anyone that writes something so sappy deserves their name to be thrown out… sorry J)
– Plain Simple is back at it…(back at what? Updating your fbook status?)
– Wendy Whiner is I never get a break! Ughh!!! (You at least got a break to update your status)
– Never Original is at work…(You and the 56 other people I got that status from today)

Even though I am laughing about facebook statusing, I really don’t have room to talk. I mean isn’t a blog basically one big status? OK, maybe not quite, but a lot of times it is filled with useless information like why we like pop-a-shot basketball games, or how funny status’ are. Funny thing is, I look at the status’ all the time. Many times I remember what they say and freak people out at church when I ask them if they finally got their car washed or grocery shopping done. They are fun to look at. I am definitely not a staddict, but I’m glad their out there. Are you a Staddict?

P.S. – One more thing for you staddicts, if you haven’t already, you need to join Twitter. Then you can update until your hearts content. It also lets you link to your facebook status…hmm

Comments
  1. Virginia says:

    Thats hilarious! I think I’m more of a social statuser. Not quite an addict.

  2. Heather says:

    That is why I don’t facebook. Although having two blogs may make up for that … CRAP!

  3. davecross says:

    @ Virginia – You’re right I wouldn’t classify you as a staddict.

    @ Heather – Anyone with two blogs needs to just breakdown and become a facebooker.

  4. Heather says:

    But if I break down and become a facebooker, what in the WORLD will I have to feel self-righteous about? 🙂

  5. Julie says:

    You SAID it! See my FB status. 🙂

  6. Amy says:

    I just busted out laughing. You are right on the money! I’m a recovering staddict! LOL Trying on purpose not to status so much. I’m going to post a link to this on my blog. You are so funny.

  7. Kimberly says:

    Dave,
    This is hilarious. Thanks for telling me about it. I must admit, I am a staddict :-/ Hey, you try working w/ a 17 month old all day and see how exciting it is! haha.

  8. Wilson says:

    Yeah, I had to limit myself to one status update per day. My favorite is when people update their updates. i.e. “…is getting ready for work.” And then, “…is almost finished getting ready for work.”

  9. […] cool to be a part of. I don’t update that often because I don’t want to be known as a Staddict. lol However, it’s been cool for me to be able to follow a couple pastor’s I listen […]

Leave a Reply

