Technology

Posted: February 2, 2009 in Hot Topics, Off The Wall

Technology never ceases to amaze me. I’m definitely a techno junkie. I love always having the latest cell phones and ipods and anything else I can afford. I usually stay up to date on the newest gadgets and things out to make our world a little “cooler.” Yesterday was no exception.

So flying back from a weekend wedding in Florida I was at (see previous post), I had a lot of time to kill in the airport, considering my flight was delayed yet again. Which is crazy in itself because for the first few years I ever flew, I never got delayed or canceled or anything, now it seems that happens every flight I am ever on. Oh well, that’s for another post.

I hate missing church anytime, especially on Sundays. There is something about being with your friends and church family to worship that gives you encouragement and spiritual nourishment to help get you through the week. So as I sat in the airport and read some, I got a Twitter text from my good friend Marty Holman. Marty is a pastor up in Massachusetts and is doing a good job at Fellowship Church. His text was sent out on his Twitter account about 20 minutes before their service began and he was inviting people to watch their service live on the Internet. Now I know many churches are doing this now, and it has become an incredible ministry. I never get the chance to watch these services because I am always at my own church. But yesterday was different. I got to sit in the airport in West Palm Beach, FL and take part in a worship service in Holden, MA literally 1,414.14 miles away! That blows my mind to think about. It was so cool to look around the airport and see people from all different walks of life and in their own little world, yet I was in a church service! Crazy. Marty did an awesome job for the 15 minutes I got to listen to his message before catching my flight. It just never stops amazing me the avenues that are available to our churches now to reach the world. Good job Fellowship!

Comments
  1. pastormarty says:

    Thanks for the kind words Dave. Have fun in Florida! And say warm for us up here in snowy New England

Leave a Reply

