Seeing What We Want To See

Posted: February 26, 2009 in Life Change, My Faith

I went to the UT basketball game last night and it was pretty cool to be there. I love UT sports, it’s definitely a passion I have, but this year has been different for me. For me it’s all about perspective. God’s been doing a lot of things in my life and it has opened my eyes to some priorities I needed to check. A lot of it also has to do with the fact that the men’s team hasn’t lived up to expectations this year. They are pretty boring to watch most of the time, but the game last night actually turned out to be pretty exciting.

The thing that intrigued me crazfanmost about the game last night was not the  players or the score, but watching the crazy fans. The sad part is, I’ve been there. I’ve been the guy that is so wrapped up in a game that I look like a freak to people around me. I remember growing up watching UT football games on a Saturday and my mom would walk in and be shocked at how I was reacting to a certain play, or a score, and it would literally affect the rest of my day, and sometimes my week. It’s not something I am proud of, but it definitely reflected my passions at that time. So last night sitting right in front of me, was me several years ago. I was watching this guy get so wrapped up in this game that it consumed him. The thing that jumped out at me the most about this was his reaction to some of the calls made. Every time the ref made a call against UT, this guy jumped out of his chair and was arguing the call. Literally, every time. It was cracking me up because I’m watching the same game this guy is, and I’m thinking “No, dude he really did foul that guy.” Not him, he was out of his seat and letting the ref know how blind he was for making such a bad call. I can’t help but laugh about this. Not because I think the guy is insane, but because I can relate to him. I know what he is thinking. He’s passionate about UT, and he will argue for them regardless of whether he is right or not. The thing is, if we are passionate about something we will fight for it, no matter what. I just know for me, I want to be passionate about the things that are most important. Things that are eternal, not temporal. Not that I still don’t get into sports, but that I get into them knowing that it is just a game, as hard as that is to say. =)

Comments
  1. allergyfree says:

    Did you tell that guy in front of you that it was just a game? LOL ~Your Sista

  2. Cesar says:

    Good stuff man. Although I would have been the dude throwing popcorn at him and telling him to sit down! But you are more Christ-like than me in that regard! LOL. Peace!

  3. Heather says:

    Ha! Guess what I talked with the girls about on Sunday night? Living passionately! (Coincidence? … I think NOT!)

    I talked about how often passion is skewed, and I used the example of guys who get so wrapped up in sports, because that’s one of the most visible kinds of passion.

    Anyway, the challenge was to live that passionately about Christ, like the woman at the well who went and told everyone about her Jesus, who knew all about her and loved her anyway. 🙂

  4. Benji says:

    Who cares how you see it? Just kidding man. Thanks for all you do, you know I love you

Leave a Reply

