Resolved

Posted: June 16, 2009 in My Faith

Lately I’ve been reading a lot from heroes of our faith. One in particular last week was Jonathan Edwards. He was probably most famous for a message he preached called “Sinners in the hands of an angry God.” All he did was get up in front of a crowd and read the message he had written out and thousands of people were changed as a result, and that helped start one of the first Great Awakenings in our country. Amazing stuff.

The thing that I really enjoy most by Edwards are 70 resolutions he wrote when he was 19-20 years old. Over a years time, he wrote these resolutions that would guide his life and ministry. Think about that. I want to mention just a couple that jumped out at me, even though they all spoke to me. The amazing thing about these resolutions is that he wrote them to himself. So that he could constantly be accountable for his actions. Here is what he wrote at the beginning of these resolutions: “Being sensible that I am unable to do anything without God’s help, I do humbly entreat Him by His grace to enable me to keep these resolutions, so far as they are agreeable to His will, for Christ’s sake. Remember to read over these resolutions once a week.”

So here are just a couple that jump out at me.

#8 “Resolved, to act, in all respects, both speaking and doing, as if nobody had been so vile as I, and as if I had committed the same sins, or had the same infirmities or failings as others; and that I will let the knowledge of their failings promote nothing but shame in myself, and prove only an occasion of my confessing my own sins and misery to God.” Wow… It’s so easy to look at what others have done or haven’t done and compare ourselves to that, and he is pointing out here that no matter how bad they are, we are just as bad before a perfect and holy God.

#29 “Resolved, never to count that a prayer, nor to let that pass as a prayer, nor that as a petition of a prayer, which is so made, that I cannot hope that God will answer it; nor that as a confession, which I cannot hope God will accept.” There have been many times that I have prayed, just to pray, not really believing or caring if God answers my prayer. I definitely need to take my prayers more seriously when it comes to what I am praying and confessing. What’s the purpose of confessing if we don’t mean it?

Anyway, there are 68 more of these that are just as convicting and thought provoking. You can read them here. I might blog more about these later if I get the chance. If you do read them, let me know which ones you like and why.

Comments
  1. amy says:

    #41. I can always do better, but I rarely think about how I can do better, therefore, I don’t do better.

Leave a Reply

