Still Holding On

Posted: August 4, 2009 in Humor, My Faith

I walked past a guy today in Walmart with a fanny pack… Yeah that was my reaction too. It first took me back a little and caused me to ask the ever growing popular question. “Are those things still popular?” Which quickly caused me to answer: popular? Yes. Cool? No. All these questions were going on in my head by the way. The funny thing is, it brought back a lot of memories. I remember going on vacation to Disney as a kid and every parent had one of these. I can’t say I remember mine having them, although it could have been possible that my mom did. My dad on the other hand…no. I just remember a phase when it was the coolest invention ever. I was never thrilled with them, although I did get sucked into the “trendy” phase of them. Today though was different. I saw this man wearing it, and not that I am knocking him, but really, how did this ever catch on? More importantly, how is it still holding on?

I think the answer is simple. People don’t let go. Like remember that weird phase when it was really cool to wear socks with sandals? Where did that come from? I have to admit I did it. I mean why not? Everyone was doing it. Now we all have to suffer the consequences and see old family pictures with those hideous socks and sandals. Seriously, You know what’s worse than those pictures? Seeing people wear it today thinking it is still OK. It’s not OK. If you haven’t heard, I’ll just go ahead and make that official. I think something that is going to be in the same category 10 years from now are Crocs. Really? How did these catch on? I guess the same way as the wonderful fanny packs and sandal socks. Can we maybe for just a second evaluate some other things in our life that causes us to get caught up in a trend? I know for me I have to constantly be reminded of the important things. I love what Paul says in Philippians 3:8 Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ.

That’s the heart I want to have for sure.

Can we at least agree fanny packs are rubbish? 🙂

Leave a Reply

