Gravity

Posted: October 29, 2009 in Life Change, My Faith

So I am back after taking some blog time off. I actually didn’t even read a lot of blogs while I was gone, but now I am back. People are celebrating all over the world. HA Something that has been on my heart recently is just the weight of things that people are dealing with. I think everyone that has been alive for a decent amount of time has been through some heavy stuff at one point or another. I for one know first hand what it is like to deal with deep issues, feeling completely helpless along the way. Whether it is something that was brought on by your own personal sin, someone else’s sin, or just the curse of living in a fallen world, it is not easy.

I think what bothers me, or maybe I should say the concern it gives me, is to see that people live defeated lives. If you look around in most churches today, people live life as a normal routine with no sense of urgency or change. I’m not saying this is the attitude of everyone, but it seems to have become more of an attitude for the church as a whole. When I was in high school I played basketball for a year and we were terrible. I think we only won a game or two out of twenty something. Looking back, I can always remember going into every game with the same attitude and perspective. Regardless if we were as good or better than the other team, we always played as if we had already lost the game. I hated that year of basketball only because I knew what to expect every game. Towards the end of the season, we were more excited about where we were going to eat on the way home than we were the game itself.

To me, in many churches, I see a similar thing taking place. So many people walk in and out of church each week and just “do” church. It seems like in one way or another they have been defeated and live like that’s the way it has to be. I hate to see people get more excited or worked up over the politics and programs of the church rather than what brought them their to begin with. The gospel. If someone has “gotten over” the gospel, they might not have had it to begin with. It’s not something that’s just a part of your life. It should consume your life. Until the gospel is central in our life there will always be something else that robs our joy. We’re not always gonna have good days, but even in the midst of our bad days, we can still hold on to the cross, and that’s way more exciting than fast food.

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    I love that, Dave. Very very true.

    And welcome back from the dark side… 🙂

  2. Unfortunatelly, it’s true… It’s time to change and let’s start, at least, in ourselves!
    Great job Dave!

    ..
    *

Leave a Reply

