In Everything…

Posted: November 28, 2009 in Humor, My Faith

So I made it through Thanksgiving, now onto the Christmas season in full swing. It is officially time to start putting up Christmas decorations and listening to Christmas music. I think I need to start a petition to add some sort of law that you have to wait until Thanksgiving to start these things. Now before you get mad, hear me out. It’s not that I am adamantly against it, it’s just where we live. See here in East Tennessee people are too lazy to take their decorations down, therefore you have lights and candles in each window all the way up until June. In some cases the inflatable santa can be deflated and used as a slip-and-slide. That is why I am all for waiting till Thanksgiving. But if you can promise me they will be down in January, I can compromise and let you put them up early.

Every year during this time I am always grateful and thankful for what I have. I think the older I get the more aware I am of everything in my life that I should be thankful for. Most everybody at one point in their life goes through trials, I have definitely had my fair share. Going through all the things I have been through, I think this year especially has made me truly appreciate the good and the bad. I wrote in a personal journal the other day, the things that I have that came directly from very bad circumstances. After I wrote them, I reread them and just had a huge sense of humility in how much God has blessed me despite my poor choices or bad circumstances. I Thessalonians 5:18 is more real to me this year than ever before. “In everything give thanks, because this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” I hope you all had a great time with family and friends, and took some time to reflect and give thanks… in everything.

Comments
  1. Julie says:

    Amen on all counts

  2. Heather says:

    “In some cases the inflatable santa can be deflated and used as a slip-and-slide. ”

    That is the funniest thing I have ever read, no joke. I almost spit hot green tea all OVER my computer screen.

Leave a Reply

