The Light

Posted: December 24, 2009 in My Faith

Merry Christmas. It seems like since Thanksgiving things have been very busy. I finally have a chance to write down a few thoughts. I love Christmas. Every year it becomes more and more special, which is weird because as a kid there is a greater anticipation, but as an adult, there is a greater appreciation. I get to spend a couple days with my family, which is always special.

This morning I was reading the Christmas story, but for the first time, read it from John and not Luke. I heard someone talking about this the other day and it spiked an interest in me to study it more. I can’t get over the fact that the Word became flesh. The very words I can read at anytime, that I cherish but want to cherish even more, became like me, to save me. It is something that is hard to comprehend but still amazes. I love how John kept referring to Jesus at the Light in chapter 1. Jesus is referred to and called many things in His ministry, but this is one of my favorites because of what light does. I was getting my car washed this morning and noticed all the dirt and grime on my windows, but as the sun came up it became a lot more noticable and irritating. The funny thing about it was I hadn’t paid attention too it until I decided I needed my car clean, until then I was content with leaving it dirty. The more I was wiping the windows the more dirt I saw and kept cleaning. What I love about light is it reveals the dirt, yet remains pure. Nothing else can lay claim to that. When water gets dirt in it, it becomes dirty water. When a beautiful snow sits for long, it becomes a nasty slush. The same is true for us. When we become content with living the way we are, the dirt always finds a way to come in. That’s why we need the Light. To show us things that He wants to clean up. I think where we go wrong though is a lot of times the Light shows us, and we decide to clean ourselves up. But that’s also why He is Living Water, because He not only reveals, He heals. He washes us through to where we fall so in love with Him, we won’t be able to help but keep our windows clean. So thankful the Light came. Looking forward to seeing what the Light does in 2010.

Comments
  1. Chuck says:

    Merry Christmas, Dave. Hope it’s a great one for you and your family.

  2. Yanira says:

    I so needed to read this, at this very moment in my life.

Leave a Reply

