Unlimited Car Wash

Posted: January 5, 2010 in My Faith

A couple miles from my house there is a new drive through car wash that opened a few months ago. Some of the people who read this blog know what I am talking about. It’s not the cheesy car washes that you see at different places that are touch free and just spray water on your car in hopes that the dirt just slides off, it is a newer place to which it has real brushes. They have different prices ranging from $3-$12. The first time I went through I was skeptical just like most everyone that drives through a car wash in that knowing it probably won’t get my car that clean. Surprisingly, I was wrong. It gets it very clean. Another bright spot is when you pull out of the tunnel you are welcomed by two rows of free vacuums that help clean the inside of your car as well.

The other day, I decided to take them up on a banner advertisement I have seen up for a couple months now. It is unlimited $12 washes for $24 a month. After talking to the manager and seeing what the details were I decided to try it out for a while. I haven’t been disappointed. I have made some dumb decisions in my life on things I have purchased or should have purchased. This wasn’t one of those times. I literally go through the car wash everyday when I drive home from work. As long as they are open I will drive through. It only takes about 5 minutes and I don’t even have to stop. They gave be a little bar code that scans when I pull in and I just drive forward. The crazy thing about this is now I am borderline obsessive with having a clean car. I’m always looking to see if any dirt got on it or if the carpet needs to be vacuumed, I can’t be around my car without looking at it in detail. I was never like this before I got the unlimited package. I was content with my car being dirty and cleaning it every once in a while, or when I felt like it.

It’s hit me this week how much I do the same thing when it comes to my spiritual walk. As long as I have a routine in my life by getting up, going to work, coming home, having a few minutes quiet time, going to church, sing a few songs, laugh with some friends, watch some TV, go to bed, and hit the repeat button, that’s when I am content with being a little “dirty” and cleaning up every now and then. Now here’s the thing, before, I never noticed and even people around me never noticed I was getting a little dirty. Even more, no one really cares, it’s not their life, so what does it matter to them? (Which is a whole other post). I’m reading through the gospel of John again and all throughout that book it just keeps reiterating how Jesus is the Light, and the Word, and the Water, and how we are so dirty and in constant need of Him. I can’t help but think that John and all the other wonderful books of our Bible, just maybe they are my unlimited car wash, that God is consistently using to say every time you look in the mirror look in greater detail to see some more areas that need to be cleaned up. Not cleaned by me, but cleaned by Him. That He might sanctify and cleanse me with the washing of water by the Word (Ephesians 5:26). I love having a clean car, but that doesn’t provide me with the Joy of having clean hands and a pure heart.

Comments
  1. Julie says:

    I like this 🙂

Leave a Reply

