Celebrate the Cross

Posted: April 1, 2010 in Life Change, My Faith

Good Friday is always one of the most humbling days of the year. I just can never fully grasp why Christ would die for me. Especially me. The thing that strikes my heart when I read the incredible crucifixion story, is not just the death of Jesus Christ on the cross, but also the death of the sinful man Dave Cross on the cross. Every offense, every thought, every wickedness, every bit of shame, every lie, every stumble, every foolish fantasy, every petty fear, every sin that is past, present, and future, that was an offense to Christ and God. All that separated me from Him was crucified on that cross with Him. So that when I celebrate, I am in this very moment a liar…absolutely, but not a liar at all. I am in this moment fearful, but not afraid at all. In this moment, I don’t want to die, but I want to go home. That in the cross of Christ, all that made Dave Cross an enemy of God was poured out on Him, absorbed completely by Him, so that I am no longer under wrath, but under His mercy.

So I want to celebrate my own funeral on this Good Friday. I want to sit in my own death. I have been crucified with Christ and it is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. The life I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me, and delivered Himself for me. So my celebration, is that all that could be accused of me before the living God, from the first time I lied, to every act of injustice, to every angry lash out at the Creator of the universe, every sin imaginable that my accuser could bring before God, Jesus says before God,  “This is my adopted son, perfect, spotless, pure, holy, and mine. I paid for that.” Christ. Paid. For. It. So that’s what I celebrate. That I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The Cross was my death too. He gave me death, but He also gave me life. That is worthy of my celebration.

Comments
  1. allergyfree says:

    Amen and Amen.

  2. Yanira says:

    Wow. This was so powerful. Thank you.

    Ciao!

Leave a Reply

