First Time for Everything

Posted: May 12, 2010 in Humor, My Faith

I struck out in a slow pitched softball game last night. I have never done this before and it is humiliating. There is not much worse than a softball field full of players and spectators and everyone goes silent because they feel sorry for you. I became that guy last night. The guy that other softball players (most of whom are in worse shape than me) felt sorry for. Now I have struck out before. In softball, you can strike out by the umpire calling a pitch a strike, or even by fouling off a pitch after you already have two strikes. But the way I struck out last night was by swinging. When you strike out by missing the ball completely it is never even a question. You have no excuses and no one to blame. It was just bad. So I felt terrible, even into today. It’s not the end of the world and maybe a little grace is the fact that I haven’t played softball in over two years and last night was the first night back playing. Regardless, there is a first time for everything. We all need to be humbled every now and then, last night was my turn to be. I needed it though. I always need to be kept down on the level I’m supposed to be. If it takes a few out of shape men feeling sorry for me, then that’s just as well I guess. I’m sure that’s why Scripture says to humble ourselves, if we don’t, it may just happen on a softball field. 🙂

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    Lionel Prichard: Merrill’s a class-A screw up. He would just swing that bat as hard as he could every time. Didn’t matter what the coaches said, didn’t matter who was on base. He would just whip that bat through the air as hard as he could. Looked like a lumberjack chopping down a tree. Merrill here has more strikeouts than any two players.

    SFC Cunningham: You really got the strikeout record?

    Merrill: Felt wrong not to swing.

  2. davecross says:

    @heather Was that from Signs?

  3. allergyfree says:

    This is why I don’t play softball. Well, one of many reasons. Sorry you were humiliated. Makes me want to cry for you. I love you, bro.

  4. davecross says:

    @Amy haha it wasn’t humiliating enough to cry for me. lol Just something they will all laugh at me about for a while haha.

  5. Yanira says:

    I have one better…hit a ground ball past the outfield, run to third. Batter behind me hit a HR, I run home, and just as I was about to make it, I FELL flat on my face…..Haven’t played since. lololol…

Leave a Reply

