My Hope

Posted: September 8, 2010 in About Me, Life Change, My Faith

33…that’s what I turned this week. It is crazy how fast time goes by when you get into your late 20’s and early 30’s. I remember growing up in school where it seemed I would never graduate. Then to spend another four years in college seemed like it would be way to much. Now it’s already September and I am wondering where the New Year went too.

The thing that has been on my mind this week as I am now rolling in my 30’s is the fact that I am at the age that Jesus was when He decided to die for me. I tried to meditate a little on that earlier this week and put myself in His place for just a moment. I remember thinking as a kid in Sunday school, as I watched the teacher put up the flannel graph characters on the board, that Jesus lived a long and fulfilled life here on earth. Now that I am at the age He was, I realize how much I have yet to learn and feel like I need to accomplish before my time on earth expires. It hit me again that one of the most amazing things about Christ is that even though His time on earth wasn’t long, it was fulfilled just like it was written in Romans 5:8.

As I looked back this week over what I have learned this past year I realized the biggest thing that God has shown me. Not only have I fallen in love with Him more, I have also learned even more, and have become more passionate about the gospel. Not that I didn’t know what the gospel was but I can see it and live it in a different light now. I must confess, I have always looked at the gospel as “good news” because it the way to Christ, who is the way to salvation. I have lived as though the gospel is only what gets you out of Hell, and into Heaven. Even though this is true, that’s just the tip of the iceberg as to what the gospel does and can do in our life. It’s not just the gospel that saves us, it’s the gospel that sustains us as well. That is the greatest thing I’ve learned over the last year. To live my life through gospel lenses. To weigh everything on what Christ did for me on the Cross. To see Him in a way that far outweighs all my good, and thankfully, all my bad. It is amazing how your whole perspective can change, when you see life for what Christ did and is doing, and suddenly all the things that seem so important and life altering aren’t quite as drastic as they once were, and to me, that’s a relief.

My Hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness…

Comments
  1. julie ryan says:

    I was thinking the same thing about you turning 33… Great post.

  2. Amy says:

    That was very well said. Enjoyed reading that! Glad we got to see you on your birthday!

  3. Heather says:

    Happy Birthday, Dave!!

    Great post, too. It shouldn’t be challenging to think of salvation as something for life as well as death, but it is. We’re selling Jesus short when we stop with just a ticket to heaven. And I think you’re right; we’re not realizing the fullness of what he did for us.

    Good thoughts. It must be the wisdom that comes from maturity. 🙂

  4. Andie says:

    Happy Belated Birthday. I turned 30 at the end of August and I was thinking about how quickly it all passed. I marvel at where I thought I would be by now and where I actually am. Sure, some things I thought would be here (husband & kids) are missing but there have been so many things I never even could have imagined that I was blessed to be a part of by simply following God’s next right step for me. Growing up in Minnesota I never imagined I would work as a counselor for abused kinds in Alabama or end up making a home and life for myself in Nashville. I grew up Lutheran at a great church and never imagined I would leave it, but God blessed me beyond measure by guiding me to Crosspoint.TV Even when I left counseling to become a Nanny, I had no idea who all I would have the opportunity to work for and how rich my life would become for the trust they place in me.

    In the book Radical, David Platt talks about how God has granted us grace not just so we can enjoy it but so we can extend it to others. I try to see my life through the lens of that thought. I have been so richly blessed by God, so how can I bless others that they might know God through me?

Leave a Reply

