I Heart My Life

Posted: September 24, 2010 in About Me, Encouraging, My Faith

I was driving into work the other morning and was behind a guy at a red-light that had a bumper sticker that said I heart my wife. Just as I was thinking “Awww how sweet,” I pulled up next to them. Where they were acting out an episode of Jerry Springer or Maury or whatever other trashy show of their choice might be, and in some sort of heated exchange over who knows what. It was at that moment that I wondered if he hearted his wife like he so boldly proclaims he does. With that $2 bumper sticker his wife bought him in the airport flying to their honeymoon in Fij… I mean Las Vegas.

I don’t have a wife to heart, although if my sisters have what they want, that could end up changing, but I can say that I definitely heart my life. I just want to share three things God has shown me recently as to reasons why:

1. Because I have a God who loves me for me, even though He truly KNOWS me.

It blows me away every time I can look in the mirror and realize I am forgiven. Even through the deepest and darkest moments of my life, God loves me the same. I can’t get over that and hope I never do. To sit in awe and think that all of my sins were future sins when Christ died on the cross, always causes me to run to Him when I stumble, not run and try to hide those things. Isaiah 43:1-2

2. Because I have a family that EXEMPLIFIES what it looks like to stay FAITHFUL to God, even through the hardest of times.

Most of you that read my blog know that the last several years have brought many ups and downs for our family.  My dad has been in an ongoing battle with cancer for a long time now and literally has good days and bad. But through it all, I see his faith being strengthened constantly and his love and walk with God is deeper than it’s ever been and my family is resounding his faith. They are a picture of the true gospel to me. That following Jesus is not going to make you wealthy, it does not guarantee you will be healthy, the message of Scripture and the gospel is not that following Him everything goes right, but that He is ENOUGH no matter what happens. Colossians 1:17

3. Because I have friends that SHARPENS me when I need it, and LAUGHS with me even when I’m not funny.

This is a hard one for me because I have definitely done my fair share of letting people down. It is too easy sometimes to let your own pride, irresponsibility, and sin get in the way of the people you genuinely care about. I’m just blessed that even through it all, God is faithful to put people in our life that helps stir our affections towards Him, and keep encouraged to stay the course. It would be a hard life if those friends weren’t around. Proverbs 27:17

I’ll post more on this topic later on…

Comments
  1. Jessie Howes says:

    I heart this post, Dave. Life, even in the hardest of trials, is worth living when you know the heart of God.

  2. amy says:

    I heart you! Even though I haven’t gotten my way yet. And just so you know, our other sister is worse than me in that area! (but only because she lives closer) ha! I really do like this post, though. It’s true. All of it.

  3. julie ryan says:

    Hey, I heard that, sistah! And I heart you, too, David 🙂

Leave a Reply

