400 Years

Posted: December 24, 2010 in My Faith

As we celebrate another Christmas season one thing that has been on my mind the last couple weeks is the anticipation there was on that first Christmas… or was there? I always want to picture the nativity scene and the way it is on many church lawns as you drive past, but that really wasn’t the case at all. The world didn’t realize it needed a Savior. Most weren’t looking for one, and we know from Christ’s death they didn’t really want one.

To me, it’s just crazy to think how those 400 years between the Old and New Testament transpired. God was silent, quietly setting the stage for this moment in history. I picture it as a play when they have to change sets during the intermission. That is what God was doing during this time. Sure, they had the Scripture from all the old Prophets and the promise of what was to come but here they were, generation after generation dying away with no Savior coming to the rescue. My first thought is how can God just be silent toward his people for hundreds of years, then I always have to remember that He is still in control. He wasn’t leaving them hanging, they had all they needed through the Scripture at the time to hold onto His promise of His coming, and he finally did. But how many people had already given up hope? Thinking that they were just another generation that was going to die away.

Unfortunately, it can be easy for us to do the same. Knowing that the promise of His second coming is going to be fulfilled, but do we just pass it off like it’s not going to be us. Do we live in an eager anticipation for His return, or do we live life as business as usual? Now I know that His second coming He isn’t going to come as a meek lamb, He will come as a roaring lion. But how often do we just go through the motions and never reflect on what His mission is? It’s never changed. He came the first time as the Savior of the world, and that is what He still is. The Savior. We have something the generations between the Old and New Testament didn’t. We have Him. Right now. At any moment He speaks to us, and we can speak to Him. That is what brings me joy this Christmas. So as Relient K put it in their song. I celebrate the day, that You were born to die, so one day I could pray for You to save my life. That is what I’m reflecting on this Christmas.

Comments
  1. Lindsay says:

    Sorry I don’t know you, I follow your sister’s blog but I just have to say that what you quoted

    I celebrate the day, that You were born to die, so one day I could pray for You to save my life.

    Made my Christmas.

    Merry Christmas!

  2. Dave, there is much time that I don’t leave a comment here in your blog but I’ve been following it and it’s always amazing be so blessed while I read your blog and what about this post? POWERFUL! Especially to understand and be rocked by ‘’celebrate the day, that You were born to die, so one day I could pray for You to save my life’’ that’s the best! May God keep using&blessing you! Cannot wait ‘til meet you in person next year.

  3. Joy says:

    Hi Dave,
    I follow your sister’s blog and stumbled upon yours today. 400 Years caught my eye as this Christmas season I was enamored with the thought of that silence…that incredible period of hopelessness for so many and how so often I find myself wondering in MYwaiting if God is moving, hearing, loving, when my wait has been so much less intense. I am learning to take joy in the waiting and am so greatful that the waiting I experience IS accompanied by His constant presence, His voice and His Word.

    Have a great day and thanks for your writing. Very encouraging!
    joy

    P.S. Is that a UT hat you’re wearing on your sister’s blog pic? Go Vols! (went to grad school in K-ville and loved every minute of it…would love to move back some day!

Leave a Reply

