Significantly Insignificant

Posted: January 13, 2011 in Hot Topics, Life Change, My Faith

Try saying that title five times fast…

I have always been very interested in astronomy and the greatness of God’s creation. There is something about the endless universe that is very intriguing. For me, I think it’s because it displays the glory of God, and that is always amazing to think about. I heard a message by Louie Giglio a few years ago called Indescribable. He went through our solar system and told how incredible everything lined up and pointed to the greatness of God. Toward the end of his message he showed a picture and gave a quick summary of what is known as the “Pale Blue Dot.” It was a picture taken by the Voyager I spacecraft on its way out of our solar system. Since then, I have read a lot about this picture.

On February 14, 1990 Carl Sagan, a well-known astronomer, was heading up a mission for Voyager I in which it was taking pictures of Saturn, and the later parts of the solar system. More than a dozen years after it launched from Florida, the scientists and engineers who were still communicating with Voyager I commanded it to turn its cameras back towards the solar system and take one last picture of all the planets before it flew out of reach forever. So from 3.7 billion miles from home the Voyager started capturing all the photographs. The most amazing one however was the little place we call home and what Sagan rightly named, “The Pale Blue Dot.” Here is that picture with the arrow helping to point out the earth:

I don’t know what looking at this picture does to you, but to me, it helps me to see how small I really am. Carl Sagan ended up writing a book called “The Pale Blue Dot,” and in it he talks about how everything we have heard of and have ever known took place on that little spec in the picture. How even though everything we have ever known seems so big and huge to us, it actually pales in comparison to how big our universe really is. Although I would agree with the point he is trying to get across, I don’t come to the same conclusion. He describes what our world might look like if possibly an extraterrestrial were looking on:ย “You might imagine an uncharitable extraterrestrial observer looking down on our species… – with us excitedly chattering,ย “The Universe is created for us! We’re at the center! Everything pays homage to us!” and concluding that our pretensions are amusing, our aspirations pathetic, thatย this must be the planet of the idiots.”

Funny thing is, I agree with him there, I just can’t leave it there. You see most people do live as though the world is created for us and we are the center of everything, I even have those selfish moments in my life. But what Sagan got right is the stupidity into thinking everything was created for us. One of my favorite verses is Colossians 1:16. It clearly states that everything was created for HIM and by HIM. For me, that brings joy. That Jesus is the center of EVERYTHING.

Unfortunately what Sagan is missing is the fact that God wants to share it with us, but not only that, but goes a step further and would actually come to our pale blue dot and die for us. Stop and think about that for one second. The Creator of this universe, came to this small fragrant spec in space and gave His life so we could spend eternity with Him, and at the same time restore His glory. That’s the reason He did it. So what does this picture do for me? It shows me how so small and insignificant I really am, but that God still holds me as significant. Not only am I a pale blue dot, I am only one of 7 billion people on that pale blue dot and yet my Savior wants a personal relationship with me… and you. Wow… That never gets old.


Comments
  1. Heather says:

    Very awesome thoughts, Dave.

  2. Michelle says:

    I found your blog thanks to your sister’s post ๐Ÿ™‚ 1- Happy Birthday! 2- You are so handsome ๐Ÿ™‚ 3. I love this post. Very powerful words and thoughts. I would love to get to know you! Feel free to email me and/or visit my blog if interested <333

    pinkstarr403@yahoo.com

  3. Marni says:

    Hey there Dave! Happy Birthday! So, my friend decided to post about me on Kelli Korner’s blog about singles. So, as I was searching through the eligible bachelors I ran across your sister’s blog and post about you. I have to say that I like what I see so far! I read your post about thinking the rapture has happened when you are alone and I couldn’t stop laughing. Mostly because I have thought the same thing so many times. And, then of course when I think it, it starts a whole cascade of other thoughts like “well if I am wondering then maybe I am not really saved”…etc. It’s a funny cycle! I have often wondered if it took place when I have called every person I know and no one answers. It’s rare enough for that to happen that it makes me wonder.
    Anyway, I haven’t read all of your writings but from what I have read I think you have some substance which is a pretty rare character trait these days. Check out my blog at marnievans.blogspot.com and drop me a line if you would like. May the Lord bless you!

    MARNI
    Marnold21@hotmail.com

  4. Katie says:

    Hi Dave! Thanks to your sister, I found your awesome blog! Love it! I also posted about my sister, who is single, and I’d love for you to read about her! I think you guys might connect! My blog is philkatiebennett.blogspot.com Happy Birthday! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Elizabeth Raef says:

    Happy Birthday! My birthday was the 19th so at least we have a birthday month in common. I enjoyed reading your sisters blog and how passionate she is in helping you find someone. I have an older brother that does the same except his application fee is $50. I live in Texas I love my family and I love the Lord. I won’t charge your sister an application fee for you sending an email. Happy Birthday once again.
    Elizabeth
    eraef@stx.rr.com

  6. Rebekah says:

    Colossians is just…crazy. Paul is just…crazy.

    I remember a few years ago at Passion, Louie was speaking from the first chapter of Colossians and I think it’s verse 18 talks about Christ being “the firstborn from the dead” and I completely did not understand it. I’m still not sure I do, but, anyway.

    It blows my mind that God is that big and wonderfully powerful and yet He came to die for me and to live IN. ME. God is IN ME. I’ve already used this word too much, but it’s just crazy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I, like many others it seems, saw where Julie posted about you for Kelly’s linky. Sisters are awesome aren’t they? ๐Ÿ™‚ If you want to check me out, you can visit my blog!

    And happy belated birthday! Yay for birthdays! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Ashley says:

    This post made me think of a verse in the song Do You Know How It Feels. Do you know how it feels to know you are loved by the One who created the stars up above? Absolutely one of my favorites. I love how it is so mind blowing to think that MY Saviour created the universe, something so amazing, yet He still seen fit to create, love, die, and save someone like me. Such a wonderful post, and I am so thankful I was able to read it and be reminded of just how wonderful my Saviour is!

  8. Beth says:

    Hey, I saw your sister’s post on Kelly’s blog. If you’d be interested in viewing my info, I invite you to do so. I’m #152 on her blog or my facebook is listed above.

    Blessings,
    Beth

Leave a Reply

