Who Do You Fear The Most?

Posted: April 19, 2011 in Life Change, My Faith

I remember as a kid growing up there came a point that I became terrified of dogs. It didn’t matter if it was a big, small, fat, or skinny dog. If it was a dog, I didn’t want anything to do with it. I am not sure what happened, there may have been a point I was around an angry dog and that is what did me in. I actually don’t remember even overcoming the fear, just that I have. There came a point in my life when I realized an important truth. It’s just a dog, and I am smarter, and in most cases bigger than that dog. Thinking back on this time in my life I realized something that to this day is a huge statement in my life:

WHATEVER I FEAR THE MOST CONTROLS ME THE MOST!

There are countless times in my life I can look back and realize I altered what I was doing or even how I lived my life because I was afraid of what someone might think about me. Which leads me to this verse:

Proverbs 29:25 – “Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the LORD is kept safe.”

I can’t tell you how often that verse has been proven true in my life. Unfortunately it’s been too many. Which is why I wonder, why do we let the people around us control how we live our life? I read a link from Twitter the other day talking about why we let people influence us over God’s influence, and it lead me to some though provoking statements.

If I fear man, then he controls me. What he says about me matters more than what God says about me. His opinion can literally determine if I am in a good mood or bad mood. What he says can control whether I feel good about myself or bad about myself. In our life, and even in our churches, people are consumed with what people think about them. That’s why Facebook and social media is so addicting to so many people. It becomes a place you can try to control your own identity in hopes that someone will give you the approval and acceptance you are looking for. In reality, it can just leave us more empty and a deeper desire to seek a deeper shallowness that leads to empty relationships that we will give up everything for. Why? Because of the fear of man. Not that using social media is a bad thing, but for many people it has become an avenue to live out their deepest fears and insecurities. Which leads me to this verse:

Proverbs 9:10 – “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.”

We are foolish to allow man’s opinion of us override God’s opinion of us. This is an incredible week throughout the year. The time when we can reflect and celebrate the fact that God Himself died on the cross and paid the price for our sin. If THAT doesn’t show how much He values us then nothing can. The best thing that God can bless us with is an ever-increasing and accurate view of Himself. As our view of Him increases then our fear of man decreases. It is amazing how we can so easily let someone keep us from doing what we know is right because we are worried about what someone else might think about it. To top it all off, many times we attach God’s name to it and call it His will so that maybe somehow it will make official to those around us that which we know is wrong in our hearts. One thing I have learned over the years is that if it is the hard way out, then it’s probably God’s way out. Not always, but in many cases this may be true. But we do everything we can to avoid the tough conversation. God wants total honesty and dependence on Him. Not to live in fear of what someone else may think or react, but to live in confidence knowing that no matter the outcome, you fear God more than man. This is the only way to live a life completely satisfied in Him.

Comments
  1. allergyfree says:

    Amen.

  2. Julie says:

    I’d love to stay & read all this, but I have to go see if I have any new comments on my blog. JK :). You’re exactly right, of course.

  3. this was one of the best view of point about do not fear that I already read! and what make me happy is read this post and hear God’s voice to me in this so crazy season. ”Don’t fear sweet daughter! Don’t fear!” thank you so much Dave for be used to speak God’s will to us. may His Name be glorified!

Leave a Reply

