In Him

Posted: March 6, 2012 in Encouraging, Life Change, My Faith

It’s funny watching kids as they grow up. I am around my sisters’ kids pretty regularly and it’s easy for them not to have a care in the world. They never worry about having a roof over their head, or if they are going to have food to eat. It’s just there. Since it’s there, it’s easy to start expecting more. More snacks, more treats, more iPad time, more of what they want. I was watching one of my younger nieces the other day as we were eating. Her focus quickly moved from the current meal to dessert. Then my sister gave the same speech she has given hundreds of times, and the same speech we all have heard a hundred times. The “eat a few more bites of your veggies before you get dessert speech.” That was followed by a lot of debating, negotiating, and reminding for the next 15 minutes. As I watched that scene play out, like I have seen many times before, I kept looking and asking what is the big deal? It’s just a couple bites of veggies that is keeping you from what you really want. But my niece couldn’t grasp that, just like I couldn’t grasp it at her age either. She couldn’t see that her parents weren’t trying to make her life miserable, they were trying to help keep her body and nutrition in balance the way it’s supposed to be.

I was thinking about this the other day when I felt the Lord speak to my heart and say, “Now you know how I feel!  You ask me for things, you often get caught up in the moment…but your problem is that most of the time you just don’t understand WHO I AM and WHAT I AM DOING!”

I am so glad that we serve an Ephesians 3:20 God.  The Bible says in I Corinthians 2:9 that we literally have NO IDEA how much He has planned for us.

Just like my niece has no idea what her parents are capable of…we have no idea how HUGE God is and what HE can do.  BECAUSE…I believe many times we are caught up in what we want rather than who He is!

One of the things I am trying to do right now is become less aware of my perceived needs…and instead focus on continually discovering WHO HE IS.  Because, in doing so I believe I will stop asking Him for “treats” and “snacks” and be able to finally discover the feast that He has set before me!

HE IS THE MOST HIGH GOD!  NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE FOR HIM!

Even as we grow older in our Christian faith, we get so focused on God’s will, which is many times just trying to do our will and attaching God’s name to it. Instead of focusing on our will, or even God’s will, we need to focus on GOD’S PERSON. It is only IN HIM that we can find full satisfaction. Then it won’t be as often that we are “debating, negotiating, or being reminded” of how dumb and how little we really know.

Comments
  1. Julie says:

    Great analogy 🙂 And very true!

Leave a Reply

